Welcome to the 2021 Coldwater Planet, a monthly summer publication by the Coldwater Steampunk Festival. Each edition shines the spotlight on local Artists and includes Cosplay Minutes, Sawbones Society Updates, Columns by Melissa Small, Sue Creighton, Stan Joskowitz, and more. Download your copy of each edition by clicking on the links below. Enjoy!

It's Arrived!

The Wonderful Flying Time Machine returns to Coldwater! 

This interactive display - powered by YOUR imagination - will be on display on the Mainstreet.


Port Severn and Moonstone, Ont. artists return to
2022 Coldwater Steampunk Festival

Sarah Pickard, Moonstone, Ont. is a creative writer, actor, and author.  Inspired by leather cuffs (made by Adam Smith) pictured here, Sarah went on to create The Award-winning Sawbones Society - Season One and Season Two, which she writes, directs, produces and acts in!

Emily Pickard of Moonstone, Ont. is a talented animation graduate and illustrator.  See Emily as Nurse Clara Form in the Award-Winning Sawbones Society - Seasons One and Two.

In 2019 The Coldwater Steampunk Festival was nominated for a Governor General Award for Historical Programming.  Anne Innis Dagg, pictured here in Coldwater, won a Governal General Award in 2019!

Congratulations Anne Innis Dagg on your award recognition for a lifetime of pioneer work to know and save beloved Giraffes of Africa and around the world.


Karen Taul (red umbrella) of Port Severn (Gloucester Pool)


What a Great Surprise!

The Coldwater Steampunk Festival's Suzy Burtenshaw has won THE PRESTIGIOUS CHARLIE KELLY TOURISM AWARD!

Surprised and humbled by this award, Suzy gave an immediate tip-of-the-hat to the incredible army of creative spirits that have contributed to the Festival over the years. 

"We couldn't have done it without YOU.  Thank you to our program partners, sponsors, volunteers, hardworking Festival Board Members, and spectacular Steampunks for sharing in our success. AND Thank you to Bayshore Broadcasting and BruceGreySimcoe (RTO7) for this INCREDIBLE HONOUR. It's full steam ahead!"

Photo courtesy of Bayshore Broadcasting and BruceGreySimcoe (RTO7) 

For Immediate Release by RT07

The Blue Mountains, ON (November 14, 2017)  

Title:  Suzanne Burtenshaw wins 2017 Charlie Kelly Award 

Suzanne Burtenshaw of the Coldwater Steampunk Festival is the winner of this year’s Charlie Kelly Award, presented at the BruceGreySimcoe Regional Tourism UnConference at Blue Mountain Resort on November 14th.

The award honours the memory of Charlie Kelly, who championed the idea of four-season tourism for Owen Sound.  It embodies his spirit and looks to recognize the person who has helped to grow the tourism industry the most over the last year, through initiative, innovation or by acting as a role model.

Burtenshaw is a dedicated volunteer with the Coldwater Steampunk Festival. The festival brings thousands of attendees to the village of Coldwater to celebrate the steampunk era. Visitors often come in elaborate costumes and this themed event had record attendance this year, bringing visitors from as far as the United States, packing local accommodations and making a great economic contribution to the region.

Having moved to Coldwater in 2009, Burtenshaw saw the potential for the festival and the community and has worked to grow the volunteer base as well as the town’s participation in the event. She works year-round to plan the festival and knows that it’s a great way to introduce visitors to the area’s other attractions. Burtenshaw and her partner also host an Antique Car meet every Thursday from May until September, further increasing traffic to downtown Coldwater.

Described as an idea person with boundless energy, Burtenshaw’s vision has contributed to the success of the Coldwater Steampunk Festival and has helped bring a new vibrancy to the village of Coldwater.

The Charlie Kelly award committee received 16 nominations this year for 12 individuals. Past winners include Mylisa Hendersen, Don Braden, Jeff Carver, Patti Kendall, Jack and Rick Salen, Ashley Miller, Bryan Plumstead, Chris Hughes and Jenny Amy.

Thanks to the support of Bayshore Broadcasting, this award has grown from recognizing tourism champions in Grey and Bruce counties to honouring those in Bruce, Grey and Simcoe counties.

About Regional Tourism Organization 7:
RTO7 provides strategic and collaborative leadership to build, sustain and grow tourism in the region comprised of Bruce, Grey and Simcoe Counties (BruceGreySimcoe). We are one of 13 RTOs – independent, not-for-profit corporations – to which the Ontario government provides approximately $40 million in annual funding to lead tourism planning, marketing and development in their respective regions.

Some quick facts about BruceGreySimcoe tourism:

  • Tourism across the region accounts for over 34,000* jobs that deliver millions more in economic outputs
  • BruceGreySimcoe has in excess of 25,000 accommodation rooms, including hotels, motels, camping and RV sites, commercial resorts, cabins and B&Bs**
  • There are over 400 attractions across the region, and over 600 festival and event days each year**

*From OMAFRA EMSI Analyst query (2014) ** From the 2010 AECOM Region Strategic Destination Plan


For more information:
Kim Clarke
Tourism Experience Development Specialist
[email protected]

#ColdSteam2017 Wins Award!

The Coldwater Steampunk Festival is where imagination and creativity collide with alternative realities - and it is now home of the Orillia District Arts Council’s 2017 Community Arts Award!

The Council is a vibrant, collaborative and interactive arts community that is meaningfully engaged with the public (https://orilliaartscouncil.ca/). It presented its community award to the #ColdwaterSteampunkFestival for making “a marked contribution to the cultural fabric of the community while possessing the highest standards of motivation and service.”

Many thanks go to our colourful Steampunks, jubilant volunteers, generous community partners, visionary founders, and the whirl-wind of energy that is Suzy Burtenshaw. Every year is a different experience, unleashing the artist in all of us, and it IS a wonderful ride. To learn more see www.steampunkfestivalcoldwater.com .

#ColdSteam 2017 sends compliments to fellow awards winner, Tyler Knight (http://knightvision.ca/). His outstanding artistic contributions to Orillia’s cultural life earned him ODAC’s Arts Achievement Award.

A tip of the hat also go out to this year’s nominees: Beth McKean (www.bethmckean.com) is a vibrant singer/songwriter/clothing designer inspiring change in Orillia; and Ruth Germain collaborates with more than 200 local artists each year to produce “Somniatis”, a wearable art fashion show and silent auction supporting the Museum of Art and History (www.facebook.com/pg/somniatis2016orillia).

WOW. We’re so lucky to be in this awesome company!

Thank you!

Pictured above: Suzy Burtenshaw and ODAC President, Marg Gurr, and Tyler Knight.

Photo by Deb Halbot

Graphic by Heather Keery